Skip to content
July 9, 2011 / largelythetruth

Saturday Begins With a Hamburger

20110709-015120.jpg

Specifically a cheeseburger from Bob’s Burger Express. Last night’s dinner was a delicious oyster burger from Bob’s and I was so happy I didn’t wake up with e. coli that I went back for lunch.

The weather has gone full-on “Duel in the Sun” and I can already feel my sunblock capitulating to Apollo like the dermal equivalent of the Vichy French. To make matters worse, I have been reduced to wearing a baseball cap so that the enormous amount of real estate on my head left vacant by male pattern baldness doesn’t start to look like the surface of Mars.

From the shaded comfort of overhanging trees I watched the Bill Coon & Darren Radtke Duo on the Woodland Stage.

A crowd that was, on average, older than that gathered around the other stages, relaxed in the grass, chilling out to the most mellow bass I have ever heard. It was the four string equivalent of a lullaby from Barry White.

According to the signs on the way in, the Woodland Stage is on the way to the swimming hole. That explained the half-naked teenagers walking through my line of sight. I have been here less than 2 hours and have already seen more abdominal muscles than subscribers to Men’s Health.

20110709-014939.jpg

Leave a comment